“Nicey nicey just doesn’t do it for me.”

12Feb10

Good-bye to Alexander McQueen, one of the best people who made it ok to be creepy. Once upon a time I worked near fashion, in textiles, and during fashion week, it was my job to track down images of our fabrics on the runways. Down the rabbit hole of Style.com I’d go, bored until no one was looking when I could pore over McQueen (I don’t think we ever printed anything for him, natch!). May God help Gareth Pugh.

“I think it’s important to look at death if it comes under the word macabre because I think that it is part of life. I’ve always been fascinated by the Victorian period of death where they used to take pictures of the dead. It’s not about brushing it under the carpet like we do today. It’s about celebrating someone’s life. I don’t think it’s a bad thing, I think it’s a very sad thing, a melancholic thing. It’s a very romantic thing because it means the end of a cycle. Everything has an end. The cycle of life is a positive thing because it gives room for new things to come.”

God he was good.

In His Own Words

Dead at 40

God Save McQueen

No Responses Yet to ““Nicey nicey just doesn’t do it for me.””

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

