batcave

24Apr10

A couple of weekends ago I bought this 3 cd set for $8 at a good ol’ record store.

It’s not that good. I mean, I’m not a certified goth, but it’s got Lydia Lunch, Christian Death, Gene Loves Jezebel, the Damned, Echo & the Bunnymen, and the Stranglers on it, for crying out loud, but it came out in 1997, and the obscure bits are preeeetty 90s soundtrack quality. Still, it’s got some gems, and I’m pretty happy I bought it. I can’t help that I’d rather have Monsters of Deathrock. With TSOL and 45 Grave.

Then I came home to find Siouxsie Sioux on the cover of Fader. Oh my goth! Yes!




This was also kinda not that great. Quotes from a bunch of modern cool people talking about her influence and a weird selection of low-contrast black and white photos? Everyone seems to favor The Scream and Kaleidoscope. What about Juju? What about Join Hands? That’s my favorite.

I love Siouxsie forever. She is, as the French say, super-cool.

Disappointment! Sunday horror movies at Bill’s (aka Sabbath Bloody Sabbath) will have to continue to be my bastion of creepiness.

No Responses Yet to “batcave”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

