destroy/undestroy

10Nov10

Came across this interview with artist/tattooer Scott Campbell about how he lit his own work on fire after a really unpleasant bout with a gallery owner (Vice, big fucking surprise) in Mexico City. I totally get it!

‘There was a gas station across the street from the gallery, conveniently. I filled up a gallon and set the gallon of gasoline at the front door. I had a couple friends of mine there to help carry stuff out, and I said, “OK, I’m going to go upstairs, we’re going to have a conversation, and if it goes well, we’re all good. If the conversation doesn’t go well, then I need your help getting all of this stuff out of the gallery.” I went upstairs and told him, “You sent me this e-mail, and I need you to explain it to me in a way that I am going to be okay with it.” But it was the same pissing contest. So I was done. We started taking everything off the walls, walked it outside, poured a bunch of gasoline on it, and lit it on fire.’

I read this part, and let me say, this is why I want to do what I want to do. This is so fascinating and important to the life of the artworks and for it to be swept under the rug would be a loss, in my opinion:

“We have a very delicate truce at the moment. They have a huge obligation to their collectors, obviously. They took money for all this stuff and sold it. We left it; they can keep the works through the end of the show as scheduled. But, they’re all burnt and they have to display them as they are, with an honest explanation about what happened, and why they are in that condition. And at the end of the show, if everything’s kosher, they return all the burned works to me and I’ll replace them with new pieces.”

In other news, I really want to get tattooed. There must be something in the air because I’m not the only one with the itch, even though I’ve spent about $700 on tattoos this year…yikes.

Speaking of my academic interests, my mommy sent me this article: Art believed destroyed by Nazis found in Berlin

If I haven’t mentioned it one thousand times, I am a little big obsessed with the Nazi Degenerate Art exhibition (I don’t think it was very nice, for the record, to put it mildly). Interestingly, although over a thousand works are known to have been burned deliberately in public by Nazis, the recently found sculptures were thought to be lost in an office building fire.

Here is a picture by Paul Klee that I have seen in real life and which was also stolen and displayed by Nazis to prove that Paul Klee was a Dangerous Jewish Nutter! (He wasn’t)

No Responses Yet to “destroy/undestroy”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

