TRUFFLE HOUND

05Apr12

As an alternative to my half baked huh what rants, here’s a pretty good post from BOOKFORUM about MoMA, Twitter, Celebrity Truffle Hounds, and MoMA chief curator Klaus Biesenbach: Klaus Werk

As AFC (xo) says: “Choire Sicha thinks Biesenbach’s tweets underscore the direction MoMA is heading in, and I’m not sure I like it. Can I say that and still give the Kraftwerk exhibition a thumbs-up?”

Yes you can, PJ! :-)

In other news I think my new artistic direction can be called “It Ain’t That Serious.” It’s about time. Here, a work in progress, taken by my PHONE. Because I’m BUSY but still want to paint. Right? Image

I mean this is just as good as this, right:

Image

ETA: Morley Safer! It ain’t that serious!  :-(((((( You make me sad! But Jerry Salz to the rescue!

Flacking for the piece on Friday, Safer told Charlie Rose and Gayle King, “Even Jerry Saltz says 85 percent of the art we see is bad,” adding that he’d suggest that it’s 95 percent. Whatever. I wanted to tell him that the percent I suggested doesn’t only apply to the present. Eighty-five percent of the art made in the Renaissance wasn’t that good either. It’s just that we never see it: What is on view in museums has already been filtered for us. Safer doesn’t get that the thrill of contemporary art is that we’re all doing this filtering together, all the time, in public, everywhere. Moreover, his 85 percent is different from my 85 percent, which is different from yours, and so on down the line until you get to Glenn Beck, who says everything is Communist. No one knows how current art will shake out. This scares some people.

Again: just look at a thing, ok?

No Responses Yet to “TRUFFLE HOUND”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

